vegetable diaries

ginger & garlicky tamari brussel sprouts- recipe

Posted by vegetablediaries on January 13, 2010

ginger & garlicky tamari brussel sprouts

welcome to my lunch! brussel sprouts are one of my favourites and this recipe is quick and easy to make. the results are amazing. for those people who aren’t fond brussel sprouts, i hope this recipe will turn you around!

Ginger & Garlicky Tamari Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients

1 lb. fresh Brussel sprouts, halved
3-inch piece of fresh ginger, grated with a microplane
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
lots of freshly ground black pepper (to taste)
1 ½ tbsp wheat-free tamari (or to taste)
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp black sesame seeds
freshly chopped cilantro for garish

Method

Add the oil to a 10-inch skillet and heat the pan over medium heat. When the pan is hot add the ginger and garlic (don’t let them burn!). Next add the Brussel sprouts, cayenne and black pepper, then add the tamari and combine well. Turn the sprouts so that they are face down on the pan. Cover the pan and cook for five or so minutes, or until they start to brown. When the sprouts start to get nicely brown, stir and turn off the heat. I prefer my Brussel sprouts to have a nice bite (not soggy), so I don’t like to overcook them. A good rule of thumb is to aim for retaining their bright green colour. Add the sesame seeds and garnish with cilantro. Enjoy!

ginger & garlicky tamari brussel sprouts

3 Responses to “ginger & garlicky tamari brussel sprouts- recipe”

  1. Ashley said

    This looks amazing!

  2. First of all I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts
    out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to
    be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or tips? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

